Mandrake 10 on VPR Matrix 170b4

Guest spawnsharks

Guest spawnsharks

I just wanted to post my experience with installing Mandrake 10 OE on my VPR Matrix 170b4 (120-170B4 just to add the meta search)...

I was reluctant to switch entirely over to Linux on my laptop because I am really new to Linux and fairly inexperienced with UNIX, or any command line work. However, I have been interested in learning, so I installed a dual boot in my desktop... that had it's own share of challenges so I found that I never choose to boot into Linux at all, and tha last thing that I feel I have time for is opening Linux for tutorial purposes.. so in an effort to give myself a "sink or swim" ultimatium, I ripped Windows out of my laptop and installed Mandrake 10. Now I HAVE to learn how to use this, or my laptop is worthless :)

So....

Installed with the latest downloadable CDs... chose "remove Windows"

Mandrake did a wonderful job formatting the HDD for me, no work on my part at all!

Here is my list of what works and what doesn't, and I'll add my solutions to the problems as I fix them.

Motherboard- Seems fine... turns on, fans spin, CPU is cool.

VGA- Worked fantastic from the getgo.. ATi Radeon M7 detected, drivers exist. I have full hardware accellaration. Tux racer plays smoothly.

Sound- Again, works fine out of the box. No hassles.

PCMCIA- The only device I have for this is a USRobotics USR2410 wireless network card. I took it to my local cafe that has a wireless network, and was able to get on the network just by inserting the card and opening a browser. Done.

Touchpad- This works fine as emulating a PS/2 mouse, but the tapping does nt work yet. I found the drivers for the model I have and have not yet installed them. I'm still unclear about the steps involved with installing a driver under Linux, but the howto section here seems very helpful.