A few problems with new install...

Jezza

Ok, I finally made the switch after 4 years of trying... I got my WinXP/Mandrake (9.2) dual-boot running.. I have GRUB on a floppy, and Win XP will boot if the floppy isn't in...

OK, so I get into X, set up my internet connection (I have 2 PCs, one runs WIn XP all the time, and has Wingate installed with NAT ennabled. I get my internet on the client through the NAT) so I set the gateway PC to 192.168.0.1 and everything else as normal. I access the internet perfectly in WinXP with these settings, but in Mandrake I can only access websites for a certain ammount of time, then I can suddenly no-longer get to them (Firefox just says "resolving www.blah.com" until it times out.) This happens in Mozilla, Konquerer and Galeon. Can anyone help me out?

The wierd thing, is that IRC and MSN work constantly. And resetting the Wingate Engine on the server PC allows me to connect again...

Does anyone have any idea what's up? I'm very new to this so you'll have to talk down to me, lol.

I also have a few other problems... I have a soundblaster Live! pci soundcard, and the only noises I get in Linux are system beeps, not powered by the card... I did get an error message, but I forget...

Also, I have a problem with installing from tar.gz files... it seems that I can only install programs to the location I downloaded the gzip file to, which is only the /home/james directorty, I have Firefox running from the desktop...

Furthermore, it seems that somewhere along the lines, the permissions got messed up... I can't install rmps even when logged in as root. not can I execute certain ./make files

I installed Wine to help me to get to my e-mail as for some reason, none of the browsers will connect to hotmail... they al just say "resolving host loginnet.hotmail.com" but I can't install the rpm