IBM Thinkpad trackpoint problem

I'm rather new to linux, and I just installed Mandrake 10. But I have this odd problem with the trackpoint (which I believe is ps/2). After using it for a couple seconds, the mouse pointer randomly moves around the screen at high speed, click things at random. This continues for several seconds after I have stopped using the trackpoint.

I have a usb mouse, and that works fine but I really need to be able to use the trackpoint as well.

Anyone have any ideas?

On my TP, MDK 9.2 handles the ultranav device without a hitch. It was configured as a PS/2 mouse and worked out of the box. Both the trackpoint and touchpad work. With the synaptics driver, even trackpoint's middle button works.

Try the synaptics driver (you may need to modprobe the evdev module first).

Sorry, altima, here are some suggestions...

First, you may try using some other driver for your trackpoint. I would disconnect any other pointing devices before doing that.

0. Backup your XF86Config, XF86Config-4 files. In the terminal, type in su, then type in the root password. Then do the following:

# cd /etc/X11/
# cp XF86Config-4 XF86Config-4.original
# cp XF86Config XF86Config.original
# ls  

Don't worry if you don't have one of those files and you will get an error. It's most likely, that you only have XF86Config-4. ls must show the new file(s) with extension .original in that dir. Now type exit.

1. Start Mandrake Control Centre (is there one in MDK10?). You can start it from the terminal by typing mcc in the command prompt, or choose an appropriate item from the menu. If you're in KDE, just click the large K in the left corner of the panel down at the bottom of the screen. If you can't click, just press ALT+F1, to show the menu. You have to choose "Configure my computer" or something similar to that. You will be prompted to to type in root's password, just do that.