Running your system as root user

ianw1974

I've written this post as humourous as I can think of right now, but hopefully it gets the point over. This isn't directed at anyone in particular, but more as of an informative and humourous reason not to run your system as root user, than compared to a normal user.

In case you don't know, a standard user doesn't have full system privileges, and can only work with their own home directory. The root user has access to the whole system, and can make changes/delete everything.

The Story

I'm new to Linux, I've not been using it long. In fact, this is my first post on a forum, and since then I've written another 6800 posts with all sorts of problems I'm experiencing.

You see, when I was using Windows, I had full admin rights to my system. I could do anything I wanted, anywhere I wanted. When I started using Linux, I found out about normal versus root users, and I didn't like having to type "su" all the time and enter the root password, each time I wanted to make changes to some files, or delete something. I thought I'd do away with the normal user, and just run as root. I had been trying to find out how to make my normal user a root user, but wasn't sure how. I preferred using my name to login with, but I can live with root. It's a bit like Administrator in Windows.

Anyway, I was getting short on disk space, so I thought I'd take a look at all my files. This is what I noticed:

[ian@esprit ~]$ ls -l /
total 18
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root 2536 Oct 23 19:09 bin
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root  256 Oct 22 13:04 boot
drwxr-xr-x  11 root root 4080 Oct 23 15:47 dev
drwxr-xr-x  82 root root 5872 Oct 23 19:10 etc
drwxr-xr-x   6 root root  128 Oct 22 13:22 home
drwxr-xr-x  10 root root 3976 Oct 23 19:05 lib
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root   48 Feb 11  2006 media
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root   48 Feb 11  2006 misc
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root   48 Feb 11  2006 mnt
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root	0 Oct 23 15:47 net
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root   48 Feb 11  2006 opt