NEED HELP INSTALLING MANDRAKE!

impuLse

i have a HP Omnibook 4150(laptop) Pentium 2, 300 mhz, 6gigs.

Ive been wanting to install it for quite some time but no one can seem to help.

IT doesnt boot cds-It has a bios password(i bought it cheap off of ebay cause of the password) and it cant boot through disk because it can only use one cd rom or floppy drive at a time. Anyways i tried booting it through disk but of course since there can only be one at a time it said couldnt find cdrom, after that it took me to this menu that said "Which driver should i try to gain SCSI access?" and theres a option that says cdrom.o and when i choose it it says "Please enter the paramiters to give to the kernel" well heres where i need your help-if i type in whatever command i need to and switch the floppy drive to the cdrom would it then read it? i know this is probably confusing for u im a newb though

:juggle::help:

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome aboard the MUsB,

Just to be sure, you are saying your bios was never set to boot from a CD and you also can not press F2 to enter the bios to set your laptop up to boot from a CD?

Is there a running system on this ?

You don't need both floppy and CD drive to install. You should be able to use CD 1 or if you could copy the files to your harddrive, then you would just boot off the floppy and install using the harddrive method.

But on another note --- passwords on windows computers were made to be broken.

Check this out:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechS...01&locale=en_US

I think he means that the bios has a password on it. If this is the case, there should be a way to get around it. With a desktop computer, if you reset the CMOS jumper it will clear any settings made in the bios, including the addition of a password. I'm not sure if you would be able to do this with a laptop as I have never tried, but it might be worth looking into.