can't get to the login screen

Guest mrt

Hey guys,

I'm new to linux and mandrake in particular. I just finished installing mandrake onto the computer and the entire process finishes, but after the reboot it doesn't let me logon. It gets past the bootloader (and I've tried both grub and lilo...silly me for thinking it was the bootloader) and it scrolls through all the checks and then the screen turns black. I imagine it's at this point, that the screen should turn blue or something and a login/password box should pop up...but nothing does. It just stays black. But the screen is active in the sense that my monitor doesn't go to sleep. Also...if I hit ctrl-alt-del once or twice, it reboots the system (with all the scrolling checks and everything that shows all the "terminating calls" etc).

Any help is GREATLY appreciated!! I can't wait to get started with mandrake and linux!! Thanks all!

Tiancheng

mrt@stanford.edu

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ok. This could be tricky. It sounds like you told it to boot into X (the graphical environment) and log your user into the desktop automatically, but your video driver isn't working properly. Most of the time, it is because of an NVidia-based card.

Put the first installation CD in and hit F1 at the prompt and type 'rescue' (without the quotes). You'll get a screen that gives you some options. I'm assuming you're using 9.1 or 9.2. Choose 'Mount your partitions under /mnt/ Then choose 'Go to console'. Once you are there, type 'chroot /mnt' (again, without the quotes). Then type 'vi /etc/inittab' (no quotes). Hit 'i' to go to insert mode. arrow down to find the line that looks like this:

id:5:initdefault: