Fatal Problem During Installation

Guest Malaidas

Guest Malaidas

Hi All,

I hope someone can help me here. I have currently an installation of Suse 10.3 andam trying to upgrade to Mandriva 2009-1. However I have a serious problem. I've downloaded and written the iso image to CD and this seems to be fine. However when I try to install, it lets me enter locale information etc and then after I've selected my keyboard layout it crashes out saying

"Could not start kdeinit4. Please check your installation"

Clicking ok takes me to a black screen from which I can only reset.

I'm a linux newbie, can anyone suggest how I might get round this problem?

Edited by Malaidas

Welcome aboard. :)

Just a basic question: Are you installing from scratch or are you really trying to "upgrade" Suse with Mandriva? In the latter scenario, trouble IS expected, as the two linux-distributions are very, very different from each other and not really compatible (Suse is looseley based on Slackwares architecture and system-design, while Mandriva is rather based on Red Hats architecture and system-design).

Guest Malaidas

Thanks,

I'm simply installing by booting the CD, hoping for a 'from scratch' installation.

Just for information: Suse's been giving me major problems, particularly with the inability to setup my network card correctly (I've tried 2 different cards, both of which are in its HCL but neither will successfully work) so I'm hoping Mandriva will do a better job.

cheers

Okay, if you are installing Mandriva from scratch, then you always have a backup-desktop with IceWM. You can apply from there some patches to your system using the Mandriva Control Center (MCC, aka. "Configure your computer"). I guess that you ran into one of the bloody KDE4 bugs. I used KDE4 myself for some time and found it horrible and bug-ridden, so I went back to good old Gnome.