compiler

Guest sparkythewondersquid

Guest sparkythewondersquid

hello, I am new to linux (mandriva) I have used ubuntu for a month or so and am trying mandriva and so far I like it but I am having problems with the command line I downloaded firefox tar.bz2 extracted it and the ./configure command is not found do I need to install a compiler? in fact a lot of commands are coming back as bash:command not found fsck, sudo, dpkg, all bash:command not found its vary frustrating :wall: I am running as root any advice I would love

[moved from Software by spinynorman - welcome aboard :)]

You may find it useful to refer to the Wiki, especially the page on installing and updating software:

http://wiki.mandriva.com/en/Home

Most people would advise that it is unwise to run as root. It is best to run as a normal user and, when root authority is required become root by entering "su -" in a terminal.

sudo is not configured on a default Mandriva install. If you want to use it, you need to configure it.

Jim

First of all, welcome to MUB.

I would like to ask why you are trying to compile a tarred Firefox. Mandriva includes Firefox packages in its repository so there is absolutely no need to compile Firefox.

If you think that doing so puts you further ahead with Firefox then you are sadly mistaken. Any updates in Firefox appear within days in the Mandriva Firefox package.

You are just making an unnecessary rod for your own back. When you did the initial install, Firefox would have been in the list of installable packages. Anyway go into MCC then Software Management then into install and remove software and look for Firefox, click to install it. Couldn't be easier.

Cheers. John.