XP Shrinker?

Guest Super Llama

Guest Super Llama

ok so I downloaded the One 2009 KDE version of Mandriva, installed on VirtualBox, and I absolutely love it!!! The only problem is that it doesn't run as fast as I would like (since its an emulator). I've gotten to the point of installing it onto my actual computer. I'm currently using Windows XP, and I don't want to lose any files but I only have one internal hard drive (and an outboard) and obviously I don't want to have to put the LiveCD in all the time because it won't remember my settings. I even went to the trouble of freeing up 25 GB of space on my Hard Drive. Now I'm no Linux noob, I have Ubuntu installed on a different computer. I'm also no expert, as I didn't use Ubuntu very much. But one thing I know is that linux and windows cannot live in the same partition. Ubuntu had a feature to resize the XP partition and make a new one while preserving the data. Is this feature present in Mandriva One 2009, or do I have to use some third-party tool to shrink the partition?

Also, will it automatically install GRUB? This is my main PC and I've had it for years, I really don't want to mess it up but I'm getting sick of windows always lagging and crashing.

Extra Data:

my hard drive is compressed

my hard drive is rather fragmented EDIT: Defragging now

my hard drive has 25 GB left on it EDIT: Make that 37, I deleted more stuff XD

I have an outboard 500 GB but its already formatted

the livecd is not yet burned, its just an iso but i know how to burn it. is it possible to boot from an iso?

Also: is it worth it to dual boot with XP? As I come to the end of writing this I'm starting to think all the trouble of installing linux isn't worth it, can someone reassure me? I can probably use it just fine in VirtualBox but aMSN is really laggy in that and it won't do any 3D stuff very fast.