Wireless Network Issues [solved]

yet41

I'm running Mandriva 2009, and I am having problems getting wireless to work at all. I have got a BCM4312 chip from good old Broadcom.

I went through the 'Setup a New Network Interface' option in MCC, and I go to wireless. For the interface to use, my only option is to use ndiswrapper. I was originally trying to use bcmwl6 (I have the .sys and .inf files), but that's a Vista driver, and I've heard that they don't work so well with ndiswrapper. So I tried bcmwl5 (XP I think), but I get the error 'No device supporting the bcmwl5 ndiswrapper driver is present!'.

That's about as far as I've gotten. Has anyone else run into this? For what it's worth, I have a Dell XPS1530. I should mention too that I am very new to Mandriva. I am starting to feel like the wireless isn't going to work...

Edited by yet41

There's a nice, easy to follow howto here: http://alien.slackbook.org/dokuwiki/doku.p...are:ndiswrapper take it from the Installing a Windows driver section. Let us know if you still have problems.

So I tried to follow things in the how-to guide, but ran into some problems. I tried to load bcmwl5.inf, but it was already loaded. I went ahead and unloaded it, then reloaded it, if that matters. When I use

ndiswrapper -l

I get 'bcmwl5 : driver installed', like I always have. But it says nothing about the hardware being present. I also don't have '/etc/rc.d/rc.modules', so I can't modify it. I am assuming that Mandriva has something different somewhere? I also have the alias line for ndiswrapper.

There's a possibility that the kernel has already loaded a module that may not be working properly. We need a bit more info about your system. Please open a terminal and post the output (as user) of

cat /etc/release

and

uname -a

and (as root)

lsmod | grep -i b43

Welcome aboard! :)

Here's what I've got:

# cat /etc/release

Mandriva Linux release 2009.0 (Official) for i586

# uname -a