Dual boot on two drives [solved]

AlRoss

Hi

I only just got started with Mandriva so am a total novice in this world!

I bought a second hard drive hdd2 for my PC and installed Mandriva Spring 2008 on that hard drive. It's partitioned with:

100Gb - NTFS partition for Windows

53Gb - Mandriva system space

155Gb - Mandriva documents space

and a swap partition that doesn't show in Konqueror but from memory of the install was sized around 7Gb

There is no sight of the original 60Gb hdd1 (Windoze C, D) in Konqeror - I guess its just ignoring it but why?

ANYWAY ... the game plan was to have the PC dual-boot offering either Windoze XP Home or Mandriva.

Right now all I can boot is into Mandriva.

I don't know how to configure this for dual boot and (foolishly) imagined that it might have been offered on install.

Can any wiser bird help please?

Thanks

Al

Edited by AlRoss

7 GB for swap is way too much. Try 1 or 2 GB.

To see your other partitions, open Storage media on the desktop, can you see them there?

If you don't see them then you need to assign mount point to them first in the Mandriva control centre>local disks>manage disk partitions. mount points could be something like /media/hd .

You can add windows to GRUB in the Mandriva control centre>boot>set up boot system>next>add>other os (windows). In the Root box choose the first partitions on the HD where windows is installed.

Thanks for your help. I'm (very) slowly getting to find my way about. Actually swap is about 3.8Gb - probably still too big but I'll leave it just now.

I looked at Mandriva control centre>local disks>manage disk partitions and found tabs for hda and hdb.

The hdb tab reports the partitions previously mentioned and in sequence these are reported in detail as:

/mnt/win_c2 - hdb1 - 99Gb - NTFS-3G

/ - hdb5 - 49Gb - journalised FS:ext 3

swap - hdb6 - 3.8Gb - Linux swap

/home - hdb7 - 144Gb - journalised FS:ext 3

So far so good!