MCNLive USB - Making Persistent Changes Permanent

paul459

I am an newbie to Linux so excuse me if I'm asking a dumb question. Since picking up Linux several weeks ago, I've found answers to most of my questions on-line. I've done some searching on this topic and can't seem to find the answer. This one's got me stumped.

I installed MCN Live to a USB drive. To make changes (like adding a printer which I didn't do before remastering), I used the boot code "livecd persist" and made the changes. From what I read, those changes are saved in the mcnlive.loop file.

If I want to make those changes permanent (so I don't have to use the "livecd persist" boot code), I think I have to recreate the persistent loop (MCN Live Menu --> "create persistent loop"). When I do this I get the error "start the live system without the boot code 'live persist.'"

If I restart on a normal boot, my changes from the "live persist" session are gone. So they're not there for me to create the persistent loop. If I make the changes again at this stage and then "create persistent loop" the process is successful but my changes are not there when I reboot normally. And if I reboot with the "livecd persist" boot code my changes are also gone - in effect I've gone back to the system I installed with the remastered CD.

However, I find that if I make changes in the "livecd persist" boot code, I can get back to them only if I boot with the "livecd persist" boot code.

So my question - how do I make the changes to the USB drive permanent so I don't have to use the "livecd persist" boot code all the time? What am I missing?

Paul

there were several persist scripts used in mcnl and the early ones didnt work very well

you have 2 simple choices (i'm working now on updating the scripts)