Mandrake 10.1 on secondary HDD [solved]

Guest wildlife

Guest wildlife

I'm fairly new to Linux, as I never got a chance to use it until recently, when I purchased a serial modem to replace my winmodem. Well, it had been a long time (nearly a year?) since I installed Mandrake 10.1 on a 50/50 partition setup, dual booting with M$ XP. This was the first, and successful install attempt.

And I forgot my password. :D Tried many recent ones, and thought back a while, but I couldn't log in. Rats, I thought, and moved on with life.

Recently, a problem arose where M$ failed me (surprise!) and I acquired a new Dell tower. 250GB HDD, so I stole my old HDD and put it in as a secondary. Backed up my old M$ info, tried yet again to access Linux, and nothing.

So I formatted the entire drive as "ext2/ext3/reiser" (76GB worth) with the rest as swap (which I was told to do, and which I did with the first successful install) and figured on reinstalling Mandrake 10.1 on a separate drive.

Well, my figuring was wrong, because apparently I don't have a CDROM drive. Which is the truth, it's DVD-RW, but does it make a difference?

I know it reads because the ML install screen (F1 for more options, Enter to install) appears. But when I hit enter, I get the same results every time:

Small window pops up saying it's scanning my USB ports, a notice appears that it's disabled #19 (?) and then it says "No CDROM device found." Ok option is present, but enter yields no results, as if the screen is frozen. So I turn it off for the last time, and go back to Vista for now.

My question: Am I forgetting to do something? I read up on other sites that my serial ATA HDD needs to be "enhanced" with some difference in the BIOS, but I've scanned them and found no such option.

I've tried to change boot order. Switching the primary to "removable" allows me a "GRUB loader" screen with various colored pixels and odd characters scattered across the screen. This never progresses into anything else.