Can't configure Dell TrueMobile 1150 wireless card

nitemarepc

I have a used Dell C610 256MG memory 1GHz processor. I have installed the Mandriva 2008 Spring Free with the 3 CD's. The configuration for the wireless card (Dell Truemobile 1150) is set to encryption of WEB and I want the WPA shared, it is also set at network of "Managed". I have tried everything to change the encryption to WPA and each time the settings go back to encryption of WEB and the original settings. I am set as root user with admin password but it won't save my changes to the wireless configuration. HELP!!!

I'm a newbie to Mandriva and Linux so please be gentle.

P.S. There is no other operating system on the hard drive.

:wall:

[moved from Installing Mandriva by Greg2]

Is this card built into your laptop, or is it a pcmcia card that's plugged in?

Anyway, if your card is built in, please open a terminal (konsole if you're using KDE) and post the output of

lspci -v |grep -i wireless

and if your card is plugged in, post the output (as root) of

pccardctl ident

Welcome aboard! :)

Okay, I'm a dummy with linux. I type 'pccardctl ident' in konsole but got an error and no output. Mandriva does recognize the TrueMobile 1150 card it just won't save the changes I input for the card - encryption - WPA/WPA2 and always goes back to 'WEP'. After login as root, what exactly do I put in the konsole command line? The wireless card is pcmcia card that is plugged in.

Thanks,

nitemarepc

I type 'pccardctl ident' in konsole but got an error and no output.

OK, I need you to install with your gui package manager the pcmciautils package, it should be on your cd's. Then run (as root) the

pccardctl ident

command again and post the output here.

I'm asking you these questions because I need to know what wireless chipset your device has before I can try to help you with WPA.

I also need to know if you have a working wired internet connection with this system, to possibly help set this WPA up?