I hope this is the right place to post this! I'm trying to learn "Dynamic" HTML. Unfortunately the book is geared towards IE and Netscape. It even uses scripts such as "layer tag for Netscape Communicator" and "iframe tag for Microsoft Explorer." I'm not sure what to do here but I don't want to create pages that are for those two browsers only. What is the best way to tackle this problem? Remember I'm new to this so please go easy on me! :lol:

unfortunately browsers have various standards that other browsers don't like. it's a constant problem for webmasters, trying to test and make sure their webpages are displayed correctly in various different browsers. it's a pain in the royal behind.

however, your book may be a bit old. iframes is no longer IE specific-although they sort of "started it" (netscape 6+ recognizes iframes, as does mozilla and others). don't know about the layer tag.

my suggestion: learn the basics from the book, and check out http://www.htmlgoodies.com

everything i learned about HTML i learned online :)

Remember I'm new to this so please go easy on me! :lol:
you're lucky, i usually like to go hard on newbies...i mean, be hard on newbies...i mean.....

oh nevermind.

I found a great book in my office when I first took over this job. "Creating web pages - simplified" It's really cool this little floppy disk charactor tells you all about stuff, he is really helpful.

Whats that floppy..... no I cant do that....

if you keep to the standards, then any standards compliant browser will display your website correctly

10 points goes to the next person who guess which browser is NOT standards compliant :roll:

if you keep to the standards, then any standards compliant browser will display your website correctly

10 points goes to the next person who guess which browser is NOT standards compliant  :roll:

Oh let me guess Mozilla? the most non standards compliant brower in existance :wink: