new user adventure mandriva one in dell 1501 XP

violeta834

Ok, today I decided to go on with my decision of installing Mandriva one 2008 spring into my Dell inspiron 1501 (XP installed first). The first thing I should say is that I am not an expert in Linux, nor in doing installation of OS. So I am a complete amateur and adventure. Second, English is not my first language so I apologize. Ok, to the topic.

First obstacle I found, how to make the partition of my dell. I have no idea. I understand my dell inspiron has trhee partition. One is the "recovery" partition, the other is XP system and a third one that I have no idea what it is, off course there is another that is the DVD device, i dont know if that counts as a partition. I don't even know if I am right.

So that's the story. I want to keep XP and installing mandriva.

Partitioning an issue 'cause I dont know if madriva partitioning tool will do the partitioning right without lost of my files.

other concerns: Antivirus (I use I avg professional version in my xp, an firework Comodo and antispy ; spybot)

So.. that's the first issue.

I'll working on it but any help or suggestion is welcome!!

Thanks

Violeta

You can use custom partitioning and resize the Windows partition to make space for installing Mandriva. Make sure you boot into Windows first and check the disk for errors, as well as defrag the disk. That will help for when you come to resizing the partition to make space for Mandriva.

Partitioning can sometimes be a problem, and I'd always recommend having a backup of your files. I've never had a problem when partitioning, but then there is always a first time :)

Thanks Ian!!

ok.. so, I did the defrag in my C:, and I have partition magic ('cause i read was better to do the partiotiing with an external program), so.. How do I procedure with that?. Just run the programm and that's it? I hope so, Ill try.

I did back up of my files.

cheers,

V.