Abit KD7 MoBo/Via KT400 chispset -CPU/FSB?

bvc

I just went from a Celeron 600 (Anaheim2 Mobo)/Intel i810 chipset to what's in the tittle + a AMD Athlon XP 1900+ cpu/266fsb. My old sys limited me when it came to overclocking so I'm new at it and I'm lost. I honestly haven't done extensive research because quite frankly I think this Abit AMD crap is a joke, and if this can't be resolved quickly and easily I'll return them for something Intel. Lets see if I can confuse us...

Problem: The defaults in the bios are

cpu 1600/133fsb

fsb 133

agp 4x

Fry's advertises a fsb of 400, and agp 8x. The box doesn't say but the manual says cpu up to AMD Athlon 3200+/fsb 266 and fsb 100 to 250. Heh? Are we saying there's a cpu fsb speed and a actual fsb speed? ...and the book says agp 8x as well.

Now, I can easily tell the bios to "Load Optimized Defaults" and get

cpu 1900/266fsb

fsb 133

agp 4x

but after reboot cpucool in Win98 and cat /proc/cpuinfo show (I'm on win95 at work so this is from memory)

AMD Athlon XP 1900+

speed: 1600

I can chose a "User Defined" option and change the fsb from 100 to 250, or the ratio from 4.2.1 to 5.x.x and/or a number of other options like core voltage etc...., but if I so much as change the fsb from 133 to 134 either the sys won't boot even to the bios without pressing <Insert> or reseting the CMOS, or I get a bios message that the cpu parameters have been changed, try another setting.

I read 4 articles that bragged on the bios options, ability to overclock and how easy it is, and I don't even want to overclock! I just want

cpu 1900

fsb 266

agp8x

Now granted, [don't shoot!] I have a NVIDIA GeForce2 MX200 PCI but when I upgrade I want the 8x capability, so wouldn't you think it would show a setting for 8x?

Am I missing something obvious here?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

OH!, and I have 256 DDR400 though it is the cheap OEM crap, but it's all I could afford. Could this cause this? Oh look.....my 2000th post :wink: