Need help on Mandriva [solved]

Guest Syth

Guest Syth

Hey guys, i really tried to come along on my own with a problem, but at this point of time I really need some help! So there're some problems resulting of the fact i'm a whole newbie to mandriva/linux systems, but i got more and more into them last days. So, the main problem is, theres an important rar-file whichs password i can not remember unfortunately. So i decided to get the rarcrack-0.2 tool to get the package encrypted. I am not so depp inside the installation principles of mandriva, i hope you know what kind my problem is. It was an *.tar.bz2 file, which i succesfully unpacked; but now in the Readme is written:

cd rarcrack-VERSION ->(yes..)

#you need gcc or any C compiler (edit Makefile CC=YOUR_C_COMPILER) -> (edit?)

make -> (make?)

#you must be root in next step:

make install ->(install?)

I downloaded gcc to compile the file but the "edit" does not seem to be a known command to mandriva (im doing all from the root-terminal). So i just renamed the Makefile to "Makefile.cc" which is causing several errors used by the command "gcc Makefile.cc" so it seems like im just trying impossible things and do not really know how to handle this.

->How can i compile the Makefile and- as the next step- how can I install the whole program and use it afterwards? I found the command "sudo apt-get install libxml2-dev" in this context, but apt-get seems to be no known command again. I researched and found out, that this is a program synonym to rpm so i use "sudo rpm install libxml2-dev" which delivers a couple of interesting [-a|--a]'s and other things in [ ]'s which i can not realy indentify or come along with.