Best Distro to LEARN?

I've been thinking lately (yes it hurts). Anyway, here's the deal. I've been using Linux pretty non-stop for that last 4 years and I switch around a lot. I've used SuSE the most, Mandrake, Redhat, Gentoo, Libranet & Debian. And most every budy else. But here's the question. Which Distro do you all think is the best to learn the complete INs-OUTs of? I realize they're all alike in many ways, but some have some major differences. As-far-as learning one more than the rest, say for a JOB.

If you go to Monster.com, do a search for different Distros, Red Hat clearly takes the cake. BUT, I've never really liked Red Hat, I didn't like MD until 9.1 and I used SuSE from 6.3 - 8.2, Gentoo 1.2-1.4_rc4. Debian 2.2 & 3.0 (currently running that on an old Sun SparcSation20!) I've grown pretty favorable of Libranet 2.8 since I've been using it over the last 2 weeks. But the question linger's in my head all the time, should I run Red Hat just because it's probably the bigest in the Corp. World? We can all argue that untill were Blue in the face, but Red Hat is the big one here in America anyway.

So please, HIT this question hard and give me your thoughts and idea's...

THANK YOU,

To bad we can't poll this question??

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Oh, not that it matters but it is a major distro. I've also ran Slackware 7-9. Currently to, I do work with Solaris so it's also helpfull when the distro is somewhat similar. And yes I've ran Free & OpenBsd too.

If I understand the question....Red Hat and LFS. Like you said, in the US corp. world rh is the big dog, and you'd need to be very familiar with it, knowing its ins and outs. I also don't see this changing anytime soon. To help with the hard core stuff, LFS.....it does nothing for you and is completely commandline driven. If you like to learn, lfs is the way to go.