SB Extigy configuration under ALSA

william

Hello to everybody:

I'm comming from the hardware forum, where I've started a post asking for some help with external devices: http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewtopic.php?t=5124

As you can see, I'm just a linux newbie who is trying to become a ex windows user and facing a bunch of problems with Linux (what i consider to be normal) concerning my external usb Creative SB Extigy.

Indeed at this time I don't have the very deep knowledge as I could notice you really do, but could it be possible to count with your help to give me a clear explanation of what are the possibilities of having this sound card working properly? What is going on with my computer? Why does it freeze whenever I plug the SB Extigy in it (during booting time or with the system already loaded).

Do I have to know basic compiling issues to have this device working with Linux?

I have MDK 9.1 installed on my Laptop Compaq Presario 1700, everything was already recognized by the system: ethernet card, internal sound card, Usb Zip Drive Iomega, Usb Mouse and scanner, but this f****** card :oops: completely freezes my computer.

Could you help me? I've seen zero0w's "cake recipe" to compile source files to make SB working properly. That's what I need but, are these steps applicable to my situation? Again, why the computer freezes?:cry:

Thanks for any input.

William

Well, Sound Blaster Extigy is a very different beast from SB Live! or Audigy altogether. Nevertheless, you can follow the compilation procedure on the Soundblaster Extigy info page from the ALSA official site.

Also, SB Extigy is using the module name as 'snd-usb-audio', not 'emu10k1'.

According to the Soundblaster feature comparison chart here, SB Extigy does _not_ support soundfont (*.sf2 format file) at all. In this case this mini-how-to is not applicable for getting MIDI playback on your system. You will have to resort to software synthesizer approach such as TiMidity or FluidSynth.