Most Basic Question

Guest DRW

I searched but only found 1 thread related but I wanted to ask the question in a slightly different way. Forgive me if it is discussed in detail somewhere else.

I am a brand newbie to Linux. I have downloaded Mandriva Toronto. I have burned the image to a CD and I intend to setup a USB flash boot.

My question. I do not want my hard drive to get written to under any circumstances. I have it set up running Windows and I don't want to damage the installation and would be most .

comfortable knowing that Linux will not write (even as scratch pad) to my Hard drive.

Is the normal default operation for Toronto running off of a CD or USB flash to not write to the HD? There are several options when i first put in the CD and this is not the same as the Mandriva version I tried yesterday. What options, if any, allow this version of Linux to write to the hard drive? (Knowing this will enable me to avoid these options)

Just to be clear I do not want anything written to my Hd. At least not until I understand things more.

Thank you

yes the entire MCNL project was designed to allow you to boot a slimmed down copy of mandriva from a CD or USB key and never touch the existing hardware.

Several folks have used MCNL as our main linux install, and chris the woman who designed it, was always against this

j

Thanks,

I can't believe that I have to ask this but I can't figure it out nor can I find any post on it:

I booted off of the CD (Toronto). I then stuck in a USB flash. I then went to create MCNlive and after finally figuring out the password of root a warning window came up. I was not able to scroll down to the bottom of the window where i am sure there is a button to click to continue or at least a command to type.

There were no scroll bars on the window and i could not move it up to read the bottom. I tried unsuccessfully to change my font size, resolution, window size.......

Is this stuff too obvious for most?