LG E500 Wireless NIC [solved]

Hi just installed Mandriva 2008 on my LG E500, dual boot with windows vista. Mandriva is finding both of my Network cards just fine, however the wireless Atheros card isnt working correctly. When i go into network manager it doesnt give me any SSID's to log into. When I know that one is available. When I try to use the setup wizard I get an error, from my memory something along the lines of "unable to find network device using (ath_pci)"

I am very new to Linux, any recommendations are appreciated!

I have a belkin wireless pci network card, it it also uses the atheros chipset.

I use dkms-madwifi for that card, and pretty sure it will work for you as well.

Will need to make sure your kernel sources are installed, pretty much the most simple is if you have a laptop, which I assume you do, make sure have kernel-laptop-latest kernel-source-latest kernel-laptop-devel-latest

or to install all of this in one shot, type as root,

urpmi kernel-laptop-latest kernel-source-latest kernel-laptop-devel-latest dkms-madwifi

and then configure your atheros card as normal.

Edited by Dark

You do not have online repositories set up then. A good resource on the topic is here > https://mandrivausers.org/index.php?showtop...yurpmi.zarb.org

I personaly use http://easyurpmi.zarb.org select your mirrors that are closest to you and follow the commands given.

When you have the mirrors added, then go ahead and try the package installation and you should be able to install them.

Thank you again Dark, great info. I am new to Linux like I said and I LOVE the way you can update your system like this! I added Easy Urpmi and installed the urpmi --auto-select. Then I added kernel-laptop-latest kernel-source-latest kernel-laptop-devel-latest. However when it came to dkms-madwifi it said no package named dkms-madwifi? Do I need to add other mirrors maybe?

dkms-madwifi is in the non-free repository.