Newbie needing your help, please!

Guest JustinOb

Guest JustinOb

:wall: Well im a noob to start off. I'm using Windows Vista and i am on an HP Pavillion dv6000 brand spanking new. About two days ago i downloaded PHLAK (Proffesional Hacking Linux Assault Kit) i think anyways :mellow: and well i put it On a CD and began using it while butting my computer. Everything works perfect exepct for well 1. it is very conplicated so if anyone is willing to teach me what i need to know one on one that would be appreciated. and well 2. which is the most important is that firefox web browser is not working. after the page opens i enter a URL and a message comes up saying "the page (what i entered) could not load. please check your internet connections. or something like that anyways. it is not working i have read every post on this site and others on how to fix it and have tried many different things but none seem to work. I am also running on a Genuine Intel® CPU T2080 @ 1.73GHZ Dont know if it matters. I am also not on dial up i am on high speed located in ontario, canada with Um.... Bell Canada. It is a SIEMENS SpeedStream 4200 Modem. Dont know if any of this helps but if someone could please give me some info on how to fix this and or help me one on one with understanding and using PHLAK. Thank you so much ! :D

[Moved from Hardware - arctic. Welcome aboard :)]

Browsing problems with Firefox: https://mandrivausers.org/index.php?showtopic=30815

I don't know your level of computer literateness, but PHLAK is definitely not designed for newcomers but for very experienced users.

PHLAK was created to become the only tool security professionals would need to perform security analysis, penetration testing, forensics, and security auditing.

If you want to start with Linux, better give Mandriva ONE or PCLinuxOS a try.