aaargh!

gmac

Last night I could connect to the internet but couldn't access any web sites, I got an error message saying unknown local host.

Now I can't even do that despite doing exactly the same things. I have successfuly connected before on a different computer but I can't work out what I'm doing wrong now.

Does the domain name matter? What do the authentication letters mean and does it matter. Yes I have rtfm and it didn't help much. Part of the problem I have as a newbie is knowing which questions I need the answers to. Never mind using the applications I am having trouble getting past the first steps $£%^&.

Any help appreciated and if you are going to say RTFM don't bother.

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The message appears after i put in a web site address such as the one that would get me access to this forum.

I am a real newbie to this I don't understand your question re /etc/hosts/file.

The problem is now worse as I can't even get the modem to connect. The computer obviously is picking it up.

I've pored over the manual and trawled the forum without finding anything like this. I can't work out what I am doing wrong. All the applications etc look quite good bit I am having incredibe problems with the basics.

All the manual says is complete the sections in the wizard as appropriate.

gmac

You need to give more info, what version of mandrake?

What modem? Did it work before and now it doesn't?

What have you tried? etc.

By the way (BTW) you will seldom see people here on this site telling you to RTFM, even the English are friendly :wink:

Sorry, I didn't meam to offend anyone I have had a lot of help on this forum and in fact it is the only reasion I have persevered with mandrake. Windows works it would at this point be the easy of more expensive and less satisfying option. I did actually get that response on an earlier post, the perpetrator then subsequently gave me some good advice.