How do you turn off/disable "X"?

Guest greeneggs

Guest greeneggs

I'm assuming "X" is XFree?. I remember in the old MDK 8.0, there used to be an icon on the desktop that said "kill X". I later read that "X" can cause a lot of problems. At the time I was a complete noob but knowing what I know now and the fact that "X" is causing me a LOT of headaches lately, IS there a way to kill it in MDK 9.1 and how exactly is this done and what is the effect of doing this?

Thanks

I have stayed out because of the numerous knowledgable people already helping you. 8)

About "x".

What you remember seeing is not "Killx" but is rather "xkill", which is an excellent program that "kills" a dead gui without your having to log out or reboot your system. It will not kill x. It is called xkill because it runs in the windows environment. Kill is a command line program, xkill being its gui.

If you would like to stop using x, you can, but you will no longer have any graphic environment. x is needed to run any of the marvelous graphics and desktops of the linux world.

Finally, for what its worth, I think you have a hardware issue. I am saying this because I specialize in beaking things, and your situation(s) seem like a hardware issue. As for Mandrake, the current release is greatly improved over the first Mandrake I tried, which was 7.0. :wink:

The easist and most immediate way to stop using X is to open a terminal and

su

init 3

This will put you in runlevel 3 and kill the x server. At that point, you can type init 5 to restart the x server.

It's not permanent though. If you want to restart and not have x running, just edit file /etc/inittab and look for this line.

id:5:initdefault:

Change the 5 in the line to a 3 and save. When you reboot, it will be run level 3.

The easist and most immediate way to stop using X is to open a terminal and 

su 

init 3 

This will put you in runlevel 3 and kill the x server. At that point, you can type init 5 to restart the x server.