Mandriva 2008 on Toshiba P100-188 Problems

Guest distrohopper

Guest distrohopper

This is going to be a long intro :-( but please bear with me?

I have been using Linux for 7 years now. I think I originally started with Mandrake, but moved over to SuSE somewhere on the line. As my username implies, I like to test different distros. I was very impressed with Mandrake at one stage and paid my dues, and I am on the Mandriva mailing list. Then... the Penguin got big yellow stars for eyes, and I opted out.

I had an ancient Compaq running SuSE, and it was stolen, so with the insurance payout I bought a Toshiba notebook, an impressive machine, Harmon Kardon speakers :-) It came preinstalled with XP media centre, and so I dual booted into many variants of Linux ( I still need Windows for my bookkeeping program), and with each and every distro same problem, no sound on the Linux side. I tried Ubuntu, Sabayon, SuSE, Mandriva, PCLinuxOS, Mint, etc., etc. No sound.... Until SuSE 10.3, Eureka!

Now having tried all the other distros, I had sound, but I was very disappointed with SuSE installation of new programs. Plus I have this personal rule that I may not use the same distro on two Machines. So I did some Googling and found that Mandriva 2008 also supports this Toshiba.

So I installed it, as a dual-boot, I was impressed, in fact, so impressed, that I didn't go into the Windows side for two weeks! I had sound :-), I had installed VNC, so accessed my office PC for the bookkeeping program, I installed Windows using virtual box, and if I needed to do anything locally on Windows, I could.

I was so impressed that I decided I no longer needed a dual-boot. Why must I have Windows there? Every time I went into "the dark side" , I felt obliged to update Windows, AVAST, AdAware, SpyBot.

Mandriva rocks!

So.... I reformatted. One partition for the O/S and one for data. I set up a perfect NB :-)