Where to start from?

Hi!

I am keen on knowing more about kernel programming using C++, i do remember reading articles which talk about C++ being a bad choice for kernel programming but this was a while ago when the compilers were not half as good as they are now. Any suggestions about where i can start, i am a novice when it comes to kernel programming and have always been fascinated with it. If i were to begin, where do i start from? I want to start from the basics since i know nothing about kernel programming and its architecture.

Thanks

I have this one myself, a great introduction to the kernel and how it operates. From this you could start messing around, and then delve into something a bit more complicated.

http://www.amazon.com/Linux-Kernel-Develop...s/dp/0672327201

After that, there's the in kernel Documentation/, linux device drivers (3rd Ed) - available free online too, and probably other books I don't know.

Careful buying books, that you get the latest edition, otherwise you'll end up with a useless book about Kernel 2.4. Things have changed a *lot* since then, so don't even consider old editions.

James

Linux kernel is written in C not C++. And if memory serves well Linus doesn't like the idea of C++ in the Linux kernel.

Very good point dexter, and I can't over emphasize starting with an 'old' kernel, and starting here: CompleteNewbies, or you will become overwhelmed with all the code in a new kernels.

Hey,

I just wanted to say that i do know for a fact that the Linux kernel is written in C and its applications are written either in C or C++ on Gtk+ or Gtkmm (C++) . I just wanted to know if C++ was being used in the newer versions.

Thanks

Edited by lambofgod

Hey,

I just wanted to say that i do know for a fact that the Linux kernel is written in C and its applications are written either in C or C++ on Gtk+ or Gtkmm (C++) . I just wanted to know if C++ was being used in the newer versions.

Thanks