I'm looking at distros - convince me of Mandriva

Guest rhageman

Guest rhageman

I've been experimenting with Ubuntu 6.10 and 7.04 for about five weeks. I've recompiled kernels to add audio drivers. I've successfully added several packages. And I've fought another set of packages to a stand-still. I have friends who are frustrated with Windows but are afraid that moving to Linux is too techie. So far, I would have to agree with their fears. I'm surviving the experiment, they don't want to try.

So, I have some background and now I'm asking questions.

Is Mandriva going to be an easy install? I'm using a Gigabyte motherboard with Intel core-2-duo running at 3.2 GHz. It has 2 GB of RAM. The audio is provided on board by an Intel HD Audio sub assembly. Graphic output is by a Sapphire ATI card. I'll be looking to dual boot with Windows XP. I want read/write access to the XP system drive and five USB externals. Oh, Linux gets to have a 120 GB drive for its home. I have an HP Deskjet 842C printer attached to this desktop along with an Epson Perfection 1660 Photo scanner.

Add to this base, I desire all format video - including wmv, avi, mpg, flv, rm, ram, etc., etc. I want to download photos from a digital camera and be able to edit them.

I'd also like VoIP/IM support - preferably, Google Talk compatible.

The same site that recommended Mandriva also recommended openSUSE. Why wouldn't that be the better choice?

[moved from Installing Mandriva by spinynorman - welcome aboard :)]

Hello Rhageman and a big welcome to MUB.

All I can say is that I have preferred to use Mandriva for nearly all of my Linux life (5yrs) after originally trying RedHat.

Although Mandriva versions have had their problems in the past, they were resolved as we went along.

I have always found Mandriva fairly easy to install and get working and I am not a computer expert.

The current Mandriva2007-Spring has been the most faultless so far and looks great.

I think you will be happy with it too.