Laptop Fan is blowing!

First of all, I am completely new to Mandriva, having given up all hope on Ubuntu. I am running Mandriva One on a Sony Vaio (PCG-GRT100) with 512 MB of RAM and a 2.0+ghz Intel Pentium 4 processor.

I am getting a message in Terminal that the CPU Temperature is above its threshold, which makes sense, since from the time the Operating System boots, the fan is blowing like there's no tomorrow, and the back and bottom of the machine are really hot.

Anyway that I can fix this?

Also, I have Desktop Effects (Compiz/XGL) enabled, but the fan was blowing like this before I enabled those effects, and, in fact, also blew like this when I was running Feisty Fawn and Open Suse.

Please help.

[moved from Hardware - arctic]

Welcome aboard. :)

I remember that I read several threads with Sony Vaios having heat problems with Linux. I don't know if this is simply an ACPI problem or a problem of th motherboard ntot working well with the linux kernel. I suggest you install lm_sensors and check the temperature of the cpu, just in order to be on the safe side. Check the temperatures reported in the BIOS, too. Maybe it is a false alarm. But it is more probable that it is really overheating. Disable the extra-desktop effects. They will only add to the heat problem. And remove any dust that might be reducing the airflow of the fan.

If you want to get really hardcore in reducing the temps inside your laptop, you might want to replace the thermal paste between your CPU and heatsink with Arctic Silver 5. I don't know how hardware savvy you are, but that's usually one of the first things I do with my computers. I don't know if it'll void your warranty though...