mp3 in Mandriva?

jesthenewbie

I am quite new to Linux, I have Windws XP Pro on one HDD in my PC and have installed Mandriva Free 2006 to the other HDD and want to get it to do the things that I have Windows doing.

I want to play mp3 files in Mandriva. I have put Ragdoll.mp3 in /home/ and think that I have XMMS installed. When I try to play the file, I get an error message:

Please check that: Your soundcard is configured properly, You have the correct output plugin selected, No other program is blocking the soundcard

Is there a way to access my mp3 folder in that is in Windows from Mandriva?

Edited by jesthenewbie

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I had trouble with XMMS too although I used it on Xandros.

I have no trouble using Amarok which also plays MP3 files.

Amarok is in your Mandriva by default unless you took it out.

"star"

-> multimedia

-> sound

-> amarok

On amarok, click files, wiggle to the correct directory (left side), drag-n-drop

to the right side, playlist-> select all, right-click top song and play. More at

http://amarok.kde.org/

Sheng-Chieh

I have Amarok in my sytem tray. I can open it just like I would a Windows program, I click "files" snd browse to /jesse/home/ and drag and drop Ragdoll.mp3 to the right pane (the playlist) but the icon doesn't appear in the right pane. I moved this .mp3 from my other hard drive containing Windows. When I try to play it (even though I see nothing in the play list) I get a message saying "Some media could not be loaded(not playable)." Could that file be formated for Windows?

Does Mandriva have any sound files installed by default? I would like to make sure that I can play sound files.

I guess from your post that you have not looked at other recent posts regarding "no sound".

Please have a look at these and you will most likely have your solution.