Wireless USB recognised but not working...

Guest Dave.B

Hello all, this is my first post here - please go easy! I'm a bit of a noob.

I'm just trying out a Mandriva One 2007 live CD on my laptop, and I'm very impressed indeed. I really want to go ahead and install it as a start to ridding my network of Windows completely.

However, there is a showstopper: my Belkin 54g Wireless USB dongle doesn't seem to work. It is recognised in the hardware list, and at the top of the Wireless network set-up dialog box, but this box doesn't show any available networks. The activity light on the dongle is NOT lighting up at all. I can connect fine via ethernet. If I boot back into Windows it works fine and shows two wi-fi networks (one being mine).

As said, I'm a bit of a noob, so forgive me if this is dumb, but I have searched already. This problem appears a bit different to anything I've read on here though.

Thanks in advance

You may want to try here http://nextgen.no-ip.org/~andrew/linux/ndi...nfo10-32bit.php

There are several issues going on at once, not the least of which is that your Belkin wireless (probably) uses a Broadcom chip. Broadcom's support for Linux (of any flavor) has been - well - disappointing. There are *no* Linux drivers for the Broadcom chip sets provided by the manufacturers (someone will correct me if I'm wrong about the number!), but I understand that people have successfully used ndiswrapper to make a workable Linux driver. Usually people can use ndiswrapper with the windows driver that comes with their hardware. But in the case of Broadcom chip sets someone usually has to make a specific use driver, or perhaps a set of drivers. The one that works for you may depend upon your laptop and/or the Linux kernel you're using.

It's not exactly easy. It's do-able, but may take some self-education and patience.