Mandriva / ADSL Internet [solved]

biddu

Hi all,

I am a newbie to the linux and have just installed Mandriva. (BTW I'm also not experienced in installing O/S)During installation and during the config for network, there were the options of DHCP and others(I forget the exact letters). As I did not know what type of connectuion I have except that it is a Tiscali ADSL connected through a Modem using a USB. I chose DHCP.

The Mandriva O/S has not recognised the network or the Modem and I find that only the Power light on the Modem is ON ( Modem is Sagem F@st 800 E3) while the ADFSL light is not ON.

I know I have to configure the network but if some one can guide me step by step I shall be grateful.

Biddu

Hi,

I have configuired the connection as pppoA but after that the browser still cannot connect to the Internet.

When I go in the system config, it gives me a screen in the "Managing connections" section where I am given 2 choices for the Device:(in the drop down box)

1. eth0: VIA Tech Inc|VT 6102 [Rhine II 10/100] .... this is the LAN card in the system

2. adsl: (ppp0) ......... this is the type of connection I have. Tiscali UK ADSL.........I chose this.<

In the TCP/IP section, in the IP configure subsection the screen gives in 3 choices in the Protocol,

a. none................ I chose none.

b. Static

c. DHCP

The next boxes of Net mask and Gateway are in subdued text (cannot be selected), DNS server is blank and again the cursor cannot be placed in the box. Search domain has "none" filled in.

In the Miscellaneous Internet settings section, the screen asks for

1. Host name

2. 1st DNS server.

3. 2nd DNS server

4. 3rd DNS server

all are optional choices.

Kindly guide if the choices made are correct if not what are the correct choices.

Thanks