Wireless connection blues BCM43xx

Guest Brainjammers

Guest Brainjammers

Hello:

I am somewhat new to Linux having had a go at installing Ubuntu and failing to get my WLAN up and running, so I have tried Mandriva 2007, which I have to say looks splendid. It also ran fw-cutter to set up my Broadcom 4306 PCI wireless card with no apparent difficulty, allocating it eth0. There is an on-board LAN 10/100 card which does not show up and I cannot easily remove physically.

So if I click on the little icon in the top right and select "connect eth0", it then with no problems appears to connect to eth0. But then the trouble starts. I have configured my own network to death using the Mandriva Control Centre and I was convinced that I have got the right settings having had no difficulty with the XP laptop I am currently using to type this message. I have a range of IP addresses which includes the static one which I have allocated the subject PC, and I am running a WPA-PSK secured system. It is here that I fear I may be in deep water. The WPA settings on my router are TKIP.

But when I run iwconfig from the Mandriva COntrol Centre it tells me that my Security mode is Open. I tried to edit this from the Control Centre using gedit and the ifcfg-eth0 file, but changing "open" for "tkip" has no effect, or didn't. I may be editing the wrong file of course. The other thought I had was that the encryption key needs some sort of translation, but as this seems to work on my other machine, this seems unlikely.