home LAN + internet setup

solarian

Hi,

first I have to inform that I'm a total newbie when it concerns local networks, because I've never had more than one box at a time.

But in a week I'll be getting an Acer laptop (will put FC or Mandriva on it) and I need some advice in making a home LAN.

My current setup is such: Internet ADSL connection which is connected to a modem and further down the way the connection by computers is understood as LAN.

One step down from the ADSL modem I have a basic switch from which go two cat5 cables: one to my box, the other to my sister's on the other side of the house.

The modem and router are in my room.

So the idea is to leave cat5 going to my sister's computer and put a wireless router/hub/whatever it's called to divide the internet connection between my two computers (pc + laptop) as well as link my computer and laptop into a private wireless LAN.

I need two kinds of advice here:

1. What hardware should I get?

2. How do I make that setup work software side, i.e., do I have to run a server or will the wireless router do the job for me?

In short, I need to make this work:

[internet connection]

|

[router]---------cat5---------[sister's win pc]

|

[wireless]-----------[my laptop]

|......................................|

[my pc]--------LAN--------|

Or maybe this is possible? =>

[internet connection]

|

[wireless router]---------cat5---------[sister's win pc]

|

|---------------------------[my laptop]

|...................................|

[my pc]--------LAN--------|

help? :)

Edited by solarian

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If you have the opportunity I'd recommend just getting rid of the ADSL modem and the router/hub and replacing it with one which does Wifi and routing as well.