Hands-on Review of Mandriva Flash

mindwave

Ok, if you've seen my other posts you know that I’m NO expert, but I’m not 100$ stupid either.

But even I am beginning to doubt that now.

I bought the Official M FLASH on impulse. After 2 weeks and it didn’t show, I tried to cancel my order, only to have THAT email refused.

It FINALLY arrived yesterday.

1) The packaging is a joke, its is a piece of cardboard that’s folded over 3 times with about 1/2 a roll of packing tape holding it all together. I was truly disheartened when I saw that it had come from France that way. BUT not to judge a book by its cover I dug in immediately, and found FOUR copies of the same receipt all showing a retail value of $8USD, with a statement that that was not its value but only for tax purposes (fraud anyone?). After the 4 receipts I pulled everything else out and laid it on the table.

Unfortunately 'everything else' consisted of a subscription form for Linux Magazine (a GREAT mag BTW, just VERY expensive here in the states) and a pre packaged 2GB Dane-Elec flash key. For a minute I REALLY thought I had been sent a blank key.

I opened the package and on the side that you CAN’T se, its stamped Mandriva, so there was a little hope.

But ONE thing was glaringly missing. The ad states a CD is included to allow you to boot from devices that don’t support USB booting. NO CD. Looking in the Mandriva.com Flash Forum, I'm finding that I’m NOT the only one who didn’t get one. But so far no one has heard back from support.

2) I plug it into the same AMD-64 3.8ghz laptop that I have been working with MCNLIVE on, reconfig the bios and boot away, and wait, and wait, and wait. Good thing I was feeding my son at the time, if I had to stare at the screen the whole Time I would have thought it was broken.

But lo and behold after several minutes a 3 or 4 page setup screen opened up and was in business.