updating mandriva's software

null

Been on mandriva 6 months or so. Did a #urpmi --auto-select a week ago. Looked like all my programs were being updated... took a couple hours...

A couple of examples of versions I now have: Firefox 1.0.6 and Kino 0.7.6

The current issue of Linux Format calls both of these versions "old". The mag says that kino 0.8.0 is the latest release, and improved. Also mentions that the current Firefox is 1.5, also improved.

I'm not a huge expert on urpm, but isn't one of its selling points that it can keep your programs updated...? What gives?

Edited by null

Hey Null,

I am new to Madriva as well. Not sure if you are a registered/paying member or not, but I used Kiosk and downloaded/installed the Mozilla bundle and it updated Firefox to a more up to date version. One back from current I believe. I also did the OpenOffice bundle to get version 2 of it, but after running the bundle installed noticed that both version 2 and the older version I first got when I bought PowerPack 2006 were still on the machine which is less then what I would have hoped for. I thought that it would install over top of the old version but that doesn't appear to be the case.

Not sure if this helps at all but thought I would share what little I knew...

good luck

Ok then you can update both Firefox and Thunderbird (if you are using it as well) with the Kiosk bundle once you login to Kiosk. If you need help doing this let me know and I will get you the url etc. Because I didn't have Thunderbird installed when I did the bundle I got an error, but the Firefox upgrade completed without any problems.

thanks

ok, thanks.

I'm wondering why upgrading everything with urpmi still gives you old versions of everything. Is there something else to be done after an urpmi --auto --auto-select ?