"rolling" distros vs. "fresh install" distros

null

I've seen some complaints in other forums about distros that most people just choose to do a reformat and a complete, fresh install when they want to "upgrade" to the newest version... This is versus distros that can just be "rolled forward" to keep yourself on the latest version...

Some "rolling" distros mentioned include Debian and Gentoo. And maybe Arch...?

I have limited distro experience (RH 9, FC 2,3 & 4, and Mandriva 2006), and I've always just reformatted, and done a fresh install when I wanted to upgrade to the newest version... With the fresh installs, you have to keep 'fixing' things again (things that don't work 'out of the box').

I was looking for some comments about the distros that can be "rolled forward" without needing complete, fresh installs. Maybe I should try one...

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

PCLinuxOS. A Mandrake 9.2 spinoff. And I found this is what Mandriva should be on the desktop.

Advantages: Fresh,stable and great looking not to mention that they are not license trolls so propietary stuff is preinstalled you don't have to setup codecs etc.

LiveCD so it's very easy to install and it's full of apps very likely what you need is already there or in the repo.

Big and helpful community. There are already several PCLinuxOS spinoffs e.g. for kids, gamers edition etc.

Disadvantages: poor localization meaning it's not done automatically you have to setup languages other than English.

KDE centric. If you like GNOME there is only 2.10 yet though a GNOME version is on the way and other wms are available like fluxbox.

Broadband is required.

Usually rolling release is for community distros which has no intention to be in the enterprises. They are more fresh but has smaller repos since they have to keep it fresh. Like PCLOS has about 5000 packages while Mandriva has about 10000.