Want Help Installing Man '06 On XP PC With 2 HD's

AmEyeMad?

Hi all,

I have Windows XP running and I want to dual-boot with Mandy '06 which I have on a DVD.

I have an 80gb and a 200gb harddrives and also have Mandy 9.2 installed.

I get a bit confused when I try to figure out exactly which drives have what but I think the 200gb isn't where Windows lives.

Can I use some of the left over space on the larger HD, how do I remove the current Mandy instalment, which I think may be also on the 80gb HD, and will I have to bite the bullet and re-format both HD's?

I know how to remove/install HD's, I know that one is a Master and the other Slave and I know that there is a little plasticky thing, I mean tiny removeable thing that is sort off plugged into the back of one of the HD's which I think determines how the PC picks up on which one is Master?

Basically, I'm a total noob at Mandy and need help with doing this installation right.

With the 9.2 install I just clicked on the defaults and it went through fairly smoothly.

I don't need any files from 9.2 I can completely obliterate it if only I knew how.

below are my PC specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2400+, 2.00 GHz

ABIT VA-10 Micro ATX Motherboard - VIA KM400,

266FSB, DDR333, 8X AGP, MICRO ATX

GENERIC 350W POWER SUPPLY

LEGEND 512 DDR PC2700

SEAGATE 200GB H/D, 7200RPM 8MB Cache UATA/100 Hard Drive

XpertVision RADEON X700 256MB 128bit DDR, AGP 8X interface, DVI-I, TV Out, Direct X 9.0 Architecture

CREATIVE SB AUDIGY 2 ZS

PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-110D

LITE-ON COMBO LTC-48161H

LG FLATRON 710S

XP Home

SERVICE PACK 2

Any help greatfully appreciated. :huh:

Edited by AmEyeMad?

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If you boot the Mandriva 2006 CD, choose Custom Disk partitioning when prompted. This will give you all the information, tell you where Windows is and what partition, and list your other existing Linux partitions.