Help with refresh rates and nvidia control panel

Guest Recall

Guest Recall

First off, please do not aim me at google as I am just a little fed up with searching and getting no answers. Secondly I have looked at the refresh sticky and it does not help me at all. Thanks.

Anyway, I have the following setup:

Nvidia 6800GT < Drivers installed but cannot find the NVIDIA ( not mandrake ) control panel

Iiyama 454 Monitor < Cannot setup the refresh rates I want.

So as you can see I am unable to setup the correct refresh rate of my monitor. It has the correct settings for horizontal and vertical in the xorg but only gives me a max of 85hz. Now my monitor is capable of 120hz, although I wish to run it at 100hz.

Just some info:

1:) Please do not assume I know anything, as I am a noob at Linux. I post regularly on another forum and they assumed alot of commands etc that I have no idea about resulting in much frustration.

2:) I tried using vi to edit my XF86config but no idea on how to save the file.

3:) I have googled for hours and no luck in setting up.

4:) I have tried other distros, Ubuntu which was terrible and slow. Suse which was nice but slow as hell, however it was able to detect my monitors refresh rate correctly.

I am sorry if I come across as a bit anti. Its just I am terribly frustrated with the documentation on Linux and the atittude of members on the other forum I post regulary on. All I want to do is get my refresh rate sorted and access to the nVidia control panel for AA/AF.

Thanks in advance/.

If you are sure you have installed the stock nvidia driver, simply press alt+F2 and then

nvidia-settings

If it doesn't come up, your driver installation isn't good (which was also the case with a few nvidia driver packages from PLF and other places).

Instead of using vi, you can use nano (much easier), or Midnight Commander, which wraps the vi editor in a most comprehensible way. Anyway, for saving in vi you should press ":w filename".