"No CDROM was found" error when installing

shay

Hello,

I am new with Mandriva.

I have a new desktop with WD sata HD & LG DVDRW.

I tried to install Mandriva with no luck.

I used the official 10.1 DVD version and the 10.0 CD version.

In both cased I used a bootable CD/DVD.

With both version I get an error that "No CDROM was found".

In the 10.1 the installation is halt after that message.

In the 10.0 it continue but then I am been direct to a screen with a list of drivers that I am suppose to pick from.

I looked around the forum. I disabled the PNP in the bios. That did not helped.

I verified that the SATA in enabled in the BIOS.

I verfied the MD5 checksum.

Can someone please help on this.

Linux still has some (currently minor) issues with SATA CD-ROM's.

On kernels 2.6.12 (as Mandrivas) and 2.6.13 support is present, but buggy, so its disabled by default.

I believe 2.6.14+ have working support, but since I don't have SATA-atapi I won't sware.

A dirty solution: Install from a plain IDE-atapi drive, and then on the installed system find /include/linux/libata.h

Change there

#undef ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI

to

#define ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI

Of course since the code is not terribly good you should do that change at your own risk.

Better is using a distro with kernel 2.6.14+

Regards.

Linux still has some (currently minor) issues with SATA CD-ROM's.

On kernels 2.6.12 (as Mandrivas) and 2.6.13 support is present, but buggy, so its disabled by default.

I believe 2.6.14+ have working support, but since I don't have SATA-atapi I won't sware.

A dirty solution: Install from a plain IDE-atapi drive, and then on the installed system find /include/linux/libata.h

Change there

#undef ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI

to

#define ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI

Of course since the code is not terribly good you should do that change at your own risk.

Better is using a distro with kernel 2.6.14+

Regards.

The LG DVD-RW is not SATA (does it?).

The WD HD is SATA.