new to programming under linux - need help!

Hi!

How can i do the following programming under linux?

1) C/C++ - i know it's something like gcc. But how to use it. IN windows, after compiling my codes, i get the whole files with the .exe on the folder of my choice. BUt in linux how do i get this?

2) VB.net and VB 6.0

3) Java - perhaps here need to download from the java website?

I would really appreciate if i could get a detailed explanation since i'm really new to linux. Thanks!

Regards!

Hi!

How can i do the following programming under linux?

1) C/C++ - i know it's something like gcc. But how to use it. IN windows, after compiling my codes, i get the whole files with the .exe on the folder of my choice. BUt in linux how do i get this?

Install KDevelop - this would bring you an IDE.

Or read gcc / g++ documentation for options. You may be very interested in "-o" option ( meaning "what the output file would be"). This option gives you all the choice - both the folder and the file name.

2) VB.net and VB 6.0

Gambas tries to create something resembling VB. VB and VB.net themselves - no dice. Windows only.

As for java, yes you need to get a JDK (Java Development Kit). In most cases (or practically all cases) this is from Sun or Blackdown, although there is a Gnu version under development called gcj. I would also recommend you get eclipse as well, a free IDE which makes everything easier.

That gcc faq was a good intro but didn't mention make or automake?

Gambas tries to create something resembling VB. VB and VB.net themselves - no dice. Windows only.

not quite right ;)

There is work on making VB.Net usable in Linux via the Mono project, called MonoBASIC. You can read about it's current state here. You can read about the Mono Project itself here. I don't have any experience with Mono myself, but it should be in the Mandriva repos.