3COM USB Wireless Adaptor 3CRUSB10075

Guest lufc

Hi,

OK.. FOA I'm a total Linux Newbie. Never used it before.

OK.. I tried Mandriva 2006 with a Virtual Machine under Windows Xp and it worked and looked fine.

My 3Com USB Adaptor was routed via VM's own spoofer I think.

OK.. now I try to install the distro on my Packard Bell P4 Laptop.

After a few errors finding the correct CD (Strange as I'm using the DVD) it installed.

But no internet.

I looked at the config and found that my Wirless adaptor had been detected as a Scanner !!!!

So.. I try this..

1) Mandriva Linux Control centre - Set up a new network - Wireless - Manually Load a Driver

- All the drivers seem to be for Cards. Doesn't Mandriva Support USB Adaptors?

- Anyway - There is no driver for my 3Com 3CRUSB10075. I try a few others .. the one I see mentioned is the ZD1201. I click on it.. a window flashes (can't read it) and I'm back to the same screen. I dunno if its installed anything.

2) - The same but I choose USE A WINDOWS DRIVER (with ndiswrapper)

- Install a new driver

- Click on my driver but get "UNABLE TO FIND the ndiswrapper interface"

OK.. that's the limit of my ability in Linux.

I have no idea what to do now..

Everything works fine on eth0 when I plug in an ethernet cable.. but I can't get this bloody wireless adaptor to work.. I mean 3Com is a major player!! These things come as standard now from ISPs

Surely Linux supports them!!

Totally lost!!

Help

Edited by lufc

• 1 year later...
Guest veracity

To other members of the forum - i'm having the same problem. i'm above average with linux, but this is still proving a major problem with me as well.

i'm one step ahead of lufc:

you can find the 3com-linux-provided driver from:

http://www.3com.com/products/en_US/result....&order=desc