Video editing tool

ilia_kr

PLF has RPMs of it, so there is no need to download the source code and recompile. I've had some bitter experience recompiling their source code - one who developed their makefiles deserves some sophisticated inquisition torture. That's not to mention that the code compilation gets sorely broken with each new gcc release - it's just full of "dirty tricks".

PLF has RPMs of it, so there is no need to download the source code and recompile.

Yes it does, but for MDK 10.0, i use 10.1

Will it work for me too?

ftp://ftp.free.fr/pub/Distributions_Linux...9-1plf.i586.rpm

This is PLF cinelerra package for 10.1. If you want some newer version, just recompile the correspondent PLF SRPM - it's a lot easier than recompiling the original source code.

• 3 months later...

Bump! :D

I'm looking for some very simple editing features, just to tinker with some avis recorded by my Ixus camera. I can play these clips no problem (including sound) with Kaffeine, Xine and mplayer, they're in motion jpeg format I believe. So what I'd like to do is tinker with them a bit, for example: cropping off the beginning and end; joining clips together, resizing, simple stuff like that. It would be cool if I could play with fancier tricks like fades, slow motions and so on but any kind of editing would be a start.

So I tried Cinelerra (can't play the clips, can only play distorted sound), and then Kino (can't open them) and then Kdenlive (can't seem to do _anything_ with them). The closest I've got is with mencoder which appears to be able to do conversions from the cli, and even appeared to convert it to an mpeg4 file (I was thinking that might be able to be read and edited by something else), but the resulting file is unplayable by anything.

Can anyone offer any tips? I don't have a clue about all these video formats and the man page for mplayer/mencoder is gargantuan.

I use avidemux for that purpose. That's a GUI tool.