localhost login and other mysteries

Guest Merlin

Hi folks,

I hope you can help. I'm really new with Mandriva so if you can help please explain it really slowly (duh!!)

I've just installed Mandriva 2006 RC6 on a duel boot drive. Went through the usual stages of setting an admin password, user name and password and security password. "Successful installation" message comes up fine afterwards. But when I reboot the problems begin...

Although I've requested auto login without requesting username, up comes a "localhost login" request. Any attempts with username, admin name, or anything else, with or without startx, or startx on its own, just result in another "localhost login" request. I can't get through to kde whatever I try. Could this be a gliche with this version of Mandriva? And how can I get round it???

One other point that might be related. Many thanks for your "Installation walkthrough of Mandriva Linux 2006", but my installation didn't give such a graphical display for each option during the installation. For example, the "select packages" feature just appeared as a simple drop-down box, not the display shown on your walkthrough. Could this have been a hardware limitation? I have a 500mz processor, 256kb, and 40 gb hard :cry: drive, but also a very old graphics card (Matrox MGA Millenium, though it provides high colour). Could this be causing a problem? Or have I just got a lousy beta version of Mandriva?

Many thanks for any help!

[moved from Installing Mandriva by spinynorman]

When you went through the installation process, did you set a password for "root"?

Did you also set up a username and password when prompted as well?

If so, these are the credentials you would use to log in. If you didn't, then you need one. You can log in as root, but it's not recommended at all.

You can press CTRL-ALT-F1 at the GUI screen, and it will then give you a prompt to login, but again, you still need to use a username/password created at startup.