Switching OS

:help: I've never used linux before in my life, but I want to. I've been on Windows since grade school. I'm not really sure about how to go about switching OS. I want to know if it is possible to switch a Windows 98 pc to a Linux mandriva? <I heard that is the easiest linux version to learn> If so, how do I do that? Is it as easy is buying a cd and installing it? Or is there more to it? Also I was wondering if I did install the linux then it would replace the Windows entirely. Right? If anyone could help me I would appreciate it. I'm fed up with Windows and I'm ready to move on hehe.

Bonnie

[moved from Everything Linux by spinynorman]

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the board :beer:

It's quite easy and painless to install the system, and then with the help of the board, and a bit of patience, you'll be well on your way to using it instead of Windows.

You can have both Windows and Linux on your machine, and you can choose to boot both, so you don't have to worry about completely switching to something new straightaway.

You can download Mandriva from the net quite easily, linuxiso.org has some of them, but not LE2005 at the minute.

distrowatch.com is quite good, and has links there too for downloading LE2005 or earlier versions as well. In a few weeks 2006 will be publicly released, and you could download that.

If your connection is slow, just do a search for linux cd dvd in google, and you'll find a site where you can buy it on disk, sent to you no matter where you live in the world!

Good luck, and welcome :P

How do you switch from one to the other? Is it like two seperate hard drives? I was looking to perhaps replace Windows entirely if at all possible, Right now I only have a 8 Gig. hard drive so it is doubtful that it can run Windows and Linux. In short I want to replace Windows with Linux and I am not so sure I can do so with such little hard drive space.

Bonnie