Help me - Problems with Mandriva 10.2 - No GUI

Guest taylanator

Guest taylanator

I just need to know how to fix this problem, I don't get the gui at boot instead a dos like login screen and I login and it does nothing, I tried loading startx but it says the following:

failed to load modlule /usr/x11r6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a

fatal server error fatal error 104

no screens found

what do I do? keep in mind I am new to linux in general but I am an experianced pc user

PLEASE HELP ME :help:

Login with your username and password that you set up. Then type the following:

su (supply root password when prompted)
mcc

then choose display using the arrow keys, tab key to move to OK button, and enter to select OK. Then go through the options, and test it to make sure it works, then you should hopefully be OK.

Did you install any vendor- specific nvidia or ATi video drivers?

It seems that the gl module is already loaded, so a second attempt to load it fails. The reason is (usually) a duplicate entry at /etc/X11/xorg.conf, you have to remove one reference to the gl driver to get your X running.

Edited by scarecrow

Guest taylanator

Well, I have a intel graphics chip, 915 so the drivers apear in the linuxs' list but it doesn't seem to be working. I tried mcc to change the display settings but NONE of the resolution/color depth resolutions work! I tried almost all of them if not all and when I got to test it, it starts but them comes up with the same error message. so what do I do know? I am sure it is something simple I almost have it running just need to find out how to get the gui up. PLEASE help, thanks for the help so far guys. keep it commin and I am sure someone smart will find out what it is.

thanks

Have you tried visiting the Intel site, and downloading their driver? I have an Intel 82852/82855 card in my laptop, and couldn't get it to work with the ones with native 10.1 Official, although it would with LE2005.