logging in as root

ilia_kr

In general it is possible, although in some distros (including Mandriva) it's disabled by default. There's no good reason at all to load X as root though.

Second question: on Mandriva you can use Mandrake Control Center and set it not loading X automatically, and on most distros (not all)you just have to do edit /etc/inittab. Find a line in the configuration file reading like

id:5:initdefault:

change it to

id:3:initdefault:

and presto.

You could log in completely as root, but I wouldn't do that, quite dangerous. There's an easier way though, at least with KDE: right-click on desktop, choose Link to Application, in the Application tab, choose command and enter "kdesu konqueror". Then choose an icon that tells you not to touch it lightly :). It'll create a root instance of konqueror where you can delete anything you wish. Be careful!

Yup, it so dangerous I've been doing it for 4+ years w/o prob ;) Technically yes, there's a security risk but that is the case anytime a human starts a manmade pc.

You can disable the dm (display manager) at boot in mcc (mandrake control center) and tell the graphical interface to not be started at boot as well. That will give you a login prompt. Often /etc/inittab is ignored by most dm's if they are told to start in most distros. Once logged in just type startx. The default desktop specified in .dmrc will be loaded. If you want another de (desktop environment) or want to switch between de's edit .dmrc or install ...hmmm...ooops, it has been so long I don't remember its name. It's a console dm. Or make an .xinitrc in your home directory. Whatever is uncommented will run when you use startx from init 3 (console)

#!/bin/bash
nvidia-settings --load-config-only &
enable_X11_numlock &
#(sleep 1; xset s off s noblank dpms 0 0 0) &

#exec /usr/bin/gnome-session

exec /usr/bin/startkde

#(sleep 9; gnome-terminal --hide-menubar --geometry 53x16+0+28) &
#(sleep 7; /usr/bin/gnome-settings-daemon) &