Is KDE stable? compared to gnome?

Arne

Hello All,

As a newbie I allow for 80? of the trouble are due to my lack of knowledge.

The last 20% can be KDE faults.

I run standard setup for 10.1 exclude Open office, include Opera and add abiword and gnumeric after installation.

I have run kde for 4 months and many small issues, many which i dont even remember. I have learned that terminal always do it right but kde do not.

A small example: copy a txt tile from home to /mnt/removable in kde often fails. In terminal it newer fail.

How about gnome? I have newer used it but wonder if I should try it?

Anybody have views or experience on this?

Moved from Software by theYinYeti

I found Gnome to handle USB-devices better than than KDE. I once was a "die-hard" KDE fan but switched to Gnome as it was more stable imho. There is only one minor bug in Mandrivas Gnome (not in Fedora and other, though): when you download things to the desktop, they might not appear. Quick fix: Press CTRL+R for refreshing your desktop and voilà, there are your files.

Thank's for reply all of you.

arctic, Gnome handle USB better that's positive. kde don't do it nice. But gosh it don't refresh automatically.

coverup, I am forced to use terminal more than I like. Several things are easier in a graphical environment and thats a fact. On the other hand I don't learn linux by using kde or gnome so in a way I am happy to be forced but not all the time.

scarecrow, Sorry, what is XFCE4 and how do it differ from the 2. other and where can i get it?????

To sum up: Kde has more features but maybe slightly less stable. Gnome has less features but slightly more stable. Terminal is the rock stable approach but you have to memorise a lot.

More opinions are very welcome

Thanks again guys

scarecrow, Sorry, what is  XFCE4 and how do it differ from the 2. other and where can i get it?????

http://www.xfce.org/