Cannot Connect to ADSL

amjidk

Hello,

i'm new to linux and recently installed Mandriva with a Bewan adsl modem, iv'e spent many hours trying to connect to the internet without success. The modem is recognised by the system i input all the details such as protocol= pppoa, vci, vpi = 38,0 etc inc my username and password. My isp here in the uk assign me a dynamic IP address and have also left the dns server address blank. I simply cannot get connection. when mandriva is starting i noticed a failure in one of the services

/usr/sbin/adsl-stat line 191:2496 terminated $connect "$e" > /dev/null 2>&1 failed,

and connect 0.56 no such device, i don't really understand what this means Ccan someone possibly help?

what happens if as root you enter the commands:

# adsl-stop 
# adsl-stop 
#adsl-start

does it connect?

I had a similar problem with my adsl modem (eagle f@st 8000 (or something similar)) which would not connect at boot but would connect if stopped twice and then restarted.

It is now fixed in LE2005 as it runs a number of network replated scripts at boot before connecting the modem.

Leo

You can open it in a text editor, kate or gedit (KDE or Gnome, respectively) may be easier than vi.

If you just want to see a specific line, you could do:

sed -n "lineno p" file

So, for line 15 in the file foo.bar

sed -n "15 p" foo.bar

Hello again,

With respect to the advice in all the above, i inserted my ISP's dns server address etc, the following errors are observerd.

At startup

Bringing up interface ppp0

plugin pppoatm.so loaded

pppoatm plugin_Init

pppoatm setdevname_remove unwanted options

pppoatm setdevname_pppoatm- SUCCESS:0.56

Connect(0.56): NO Such Device

FAILED

also when i execute the adsl-start file, the response is as follows

[root@localhost mohammed]# adsl-start

................TIMED OUT

/usr/sbin/adsl-start: line 191: 13112 Terminated $CONNECT "$@" >/dev/null 2>&1