Firefox won't connect to the web [solved]

Guest montys_python

Guest montys_python

Hi everyone,

Im hoping that Im not posting on a topic that has already been dealt with.

I am new to the world of Linux have just installed Mandrake 10.2. I have tried to get firefox to work but have been running into a brick wall!

As root firefox will open without any problems and open any webpage I point it at.

But as a standard user firefox will open but will only view pages located on my machine. If I try to view anything on the web it complains(time-outs) and displays nothing. Konqueror logged in as the same user works perfectly and is what Im using to post this topic.

I am not using a proxy and am connecting to the web through my modem/router.

Could anyone offer a solution or point me in the right direction??

:help:

i ran into some trouble with the out-of-the-box firefox version that comes with mandrake, so i uninstalled it in MCC, then i went to the mozilla site, downloaded the installer for the most recent version (1.04 i think), and manually installed it to /usr/local/firefox. now my life is perfect :)

PS: dont worry about the install, its pretty simple, no compiling, or anything. just make shure you install the package cstdlib++ first.

Hope this helps

Guest montys_python

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the quick responce :)

I have tried removing firefox and installing the bin from mozilla.org previously but with the same conclusion. I used urpmi to install libstdc++.so.5.

I had a go creating a new profile but this seemed to have no effect.

It feels like a permissions problem but im not sure where to begin :unsure:

I shall keep trying :wall:

Guest montys_python

Thanks for that Artic :)

I could not find anything to change my security level in MCC but I had a look the msec comand and had a go at changing the level to 4 then 3 but again no joy

Guest montys_python

Thanks everybody so far (i have been a way over the week end so havent been able to reply :).